A Morning Prayer: To be Preserved from Walking in Darkness

by

This then is the message which we have heard of him, and declare unto you, that God is light, and in him is no darkness at all. If we say that we have fellowship with him, and walk in darkness, we lie, and do not the truth: But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship one with another, and the blood of Jesus Christ his Son cleanseth us from all sin.
– 1 John 1:5-7 (AV)

Lord, preserve me from walking in darkness, and to the extent that I do, seal my lips against claiming to walk in the light.  Let fear and its children – anger, greed, lust, cowardice – not infect my thoughts, nor spoil my grateful enjoyment of the bounty You bestow on me continually as I walk though this beautiful but shadowed world of impermanence, uncertainty, mutual separation, and human folly, selfishness and cruelty.  Let my every act be wrought in Christ, animated and made fruitful by Christ, and redounding to the glory of Christ.

Of the behavior of others let me be always forgiving, so that both I and they might quickly experience Your wonderful and healing forgiveness of our own sins.  Give me also an understanding heart, so that I might better discern how and when to answer the others You have given me to love, depend on, learn from, teach, and pray for.

Within the community of Your faithful, where our common allegiance to God, however named, gives us rights to exhort, rebuke and correct one another, let me be eager to hear whatever others may tell me for my own good, and uninhibited by self-protectiveness when You give me a mouth, and wisdom, to speak to them for their good.

Grant me, Lord, and all who ask for it, the gift of prayer without ceasing.  In the name of Christ Jesus I ask all this; Amen.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “A Morning Prayer: To be Preserved from Walking in Darkness”

  1. Shavonne Bennefield Says:

    i always do my afternoon and evening prayers at home.`

    Most recent post on our very own online site
    http://www.healthmedicinelab.com/natural-antibiotics/

Leave a Reply

