Help, help! My God-knower has fallen asleep…

by

Help, help! My God-knower has fallen asleep, and I’m trapped in a wasteland of awareness where I can’t feel my divine connection, can’t smell or taste God’s presence, can’t see my faithful Shepherd, hear my all-wise Creator’s voice, or even rightly understand my Source of All Good with this flickering and distractable mind! How long have I been this way? My Beloved has fled from me in the night – or was I the one that ran away? Should I call this nightmare feeling grief or guilt? I see that I can still write English, drink tea, look out at the rain and speak gently to the cat, but O, O, O, I’ve gone insane, and so have we all, because we’ve gone oblivious to Truth, and blind to the Greatest Reality There Is!

The One who is all and makes all and keeps it in being should be the first thing I awaken to and the last thing I kiss good-night – but where is He, where is She, where is It? If only I could see the flaming sword barring the way back to Paradise, the cloud that swallowed up the Savior, a little path that might lead out of the desert, or this dark prison’s main gate, so I’d know where to direct my longing! I know that I am, and so I know that Something am; this mind sees things go by in time and space, and so I know that Something gave it power to experience a world of change; this heart loves, hates, fears and suffers, and so I know that Something gave it feeling. Something, where are You? I know You must be here, because there can be no Here but where You are; but if I’m not awake to my knowledge of You, then where am I?

The Hebrew Bible speaks of the Day of the Lord, the Gospels of the Day of the Coming of the Son of Man: let the one on the housetop or at the plow not go back indoors! For if it’s as great an event as the reawakening of our sense of God, then it can be nothing less than the eclipsing of all time and space by the Fullness of Eternity, the reduction of a billion billion things to one changeless Singularity, the dissolving of our bordered and sin-stained selves into an all-forgiving Infinity of Love. Might we be frightened for a moment, as we tremble at the edge of the bridal bed or the grave? Maybe; or maybe a great stillness will come to steady us. No matter: on the other side is One who’s promised to wipe away all tears from our eyes. If it’s to come to us tomorrow, then it’s as if it were today. Let’s dress up for it in our best white robes of nakedness! Let’s comfort one another as best we can, so we can all go forth to meet our God with joy! And let’s forgive each other everything, every cruelty, every hardness of heart, the way we’d forgive our tormentors in a dream that’s past, because the sun is soon to rise on glory that can never fade away!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

