Wodash the Shadow: after receiving a letter from a detractor

by

Wodash the Shadow, wild, faceless and tall:
I turn from the sun and he’s there on the wall.
Wodash the Shadow, lithe, liquid and thin:
One crouches but vainly to draw him back in.

Untameable Wodash, dark, dismal and strange,
An integral part of this sad world of change:
I dare not consider him something quite other,
For he’s nearer to me than a very own brother.

I but open my mouth, and this fell shadow sings,
Accusing of all the most dreadful of things.
For Wodash, who knows of my every foul shame,
Loves and lives to bind victims in bondage to blame.

“Johnny, O Johnny, I know what you did.
“You may cry from the rooftops your wish to keep hid,
“But Johnny, O Johnny, I know what you said,
“And shall shout it abroad till you long to be dead.”

“So Johnny, O Johnny, now let me come in.
“I’ll beat you and kiss you and cure you of sin.”
Nay, treacherous tempter, all sin’s in the past;
I stand firm in the Now where your lie cannot last.

“But Johnny, O Johnny, you know you are bad.”
But God made me innocent, why not be glad?
“But Johnny, O Johnny, you know you must die.”
Nay, death’s for the body; it hurts not the I.

“But Johnny, O Johnny, what then of your guilt?”
Let it rot in the house that Old Adam has built.
“But Johnny, O Johnny, what then of your shame?”
Let it rot in the dream-world along with my name.

This shadow of shadows would chain humankind,
Were it not for forgiveness, to which he’s gone blind.
For the shadow that whispers of shame in the ear
Can taste never the Love that delivers from fear.

“Johnny, come now to my safe, lonesome place.”
Nay, Tempter, come with me beyond time and space.
For there is redemption and there there is Light,
And all forms of shadow are there put to flight.

One Response to “Wodash the Shadow: after receiving a letter from a detractor”

  1. Zach Says:

    This is really good poetry.

Leave a Reply

