‘Father Jake Stops the World’ Stops

by

As the FUM Triennial approaches I have been somewhat aware, through the pressure of my editing deadlines, of the continuing struggle in the Anglican Church. I also saw the news (but didn’t study it) that the assembly of the Presbyterian Church U.S.A. has voted to ordain non-celibate gay and lesbian clergy and will now go through a year-long process of having its individual congregations ratify the decision–or not.

Thinking to catch up on some of this news before I leave for the Triennial on July 8, I checked into ‘Father Jake’ after a long hiatus and found, in a post dated July 2, that Jake is closing down his blog. I’m sad about that, but Jake sounds clear and rightly led in his decision.

I encourage you to explore the site before Jake takes it down. There are many, many links on it to interesting and informative sites. And there are some thought-provoking essays.

These are the words from Father Jake that I want to take away with me:

Am I abandoning the struggle? Some might see it that way. But, as I’ve said before, even though there are most likely many more difficult years ahead of us, I am no longer as concerned about the end result as I once was. In the long run, there is simply no way that the extremist perspective will become the dominant one within Anglicanism or Christianity. Their exclusive view, which insists on separating humanity into groups of “us” and “them,” simply cannot survive in a world in which we are all becoming more and more connected each day. A global perspective will not tolerate their kind of elitist mentality. Nor will such a perspective tolerate the same kind of rhetoric here. So, I think it is time for me to do the responsible thing.

Yes, we must continue to speak out against those who will use the name of God to oppress and imprison the innocent. But, it seems to me, that cannot be our sole focus.

The Pews Forum survey still has me reflecting. 92% of Americans believe in God. That is astounding! We’ve got some great conversations just waiting to happen beyond the walls of the Church. For me, at least, I think it is time to end this focus on internal squabbles, and begin to look outward.

As I prepare to leave the FUM board on July 13 after representing New York Yearly Meeting for six years, I am wondering what looking outward will mean. I know that I am burned out. And I know that I am to take a sabbatical from New York Yearly Meeting.

Great conversations waiting to happen beyond the Church walls . . . .

 

2 Responses to “‘Father Jake Stops the World’ Stops”

  1. kate Says:

    Hi Carol,

    I remember visiting Father Jake’s site a few times and finding it valuable.

    Sadly, it has now been restricted to “invited readers”. I got this message when I visited:

    This blog is open to invited readers only
    http://frjakestopstheworld.blogspot.com/

    It doesn’t look like you have been invited to read this blog. If you think this is a mistake, you might want to contact the blog author and request an invitation.

    I can understand Fr. Jake deciding to cease blogging, though I am not sure I entirely understand the need to remove a blog from the blogosphere. Many “retired” bloggers leave their sites up — they serve a historical purpose, if nothing else. They allow people to explore past discussions. And they preserve the contributions of the many participants (commenters) in the site besides the bloggers themselves.

    That said, not having kept up with it, perhaps there’s a good reason for hiding the blog.

  2. Father jake | Infomcgconsulting Says:

    [...] ‘Father Jake Stops the World’ Stops « among FriendsJul 3, 2008 … Thinking to catch up on some of this news before I leave for the Triennial on July 8, I checked into ‘Father Jake’ after a long hiatus and … [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 167 other followers

